5 Comments

A Sears No. 149 in Evanston (Cincinnati)

I know, I know.

I’m still blogging about Cincinnati.  This site is supposed to be about Sears Houses all over Ohio, or at least my little piece of it.  Good thing for me though, that my little piece includes Cincinnati, which has train loads of Sears Houses.

In a previous post, I mentioned that I recently subscribed to the Archives of the Cincinnati Enquirer, and since then, have spent way too much time looking at old newspapers, seeking out references to Sears Houses.  And I’ve found some great stuff, since Sears advertised heavily in the Enquirer.

But some of the more tedious parts of that research is locating, or attempting to locate, an address for properties that have a mortgage filed notice, a mortgage canceled notice, a foreclosure suit, or occasionally, a deed transfer to Sears.  The deed transfer, like today, would mean the house had been to Sheriff Sale.  Sears offered mortgages, and foreclosed on quite a lot of those mortgages, especially after the 1929 stock market crash.

And that’s how I located what I think might be (pretty please, be one) a Sears Modern Home No. 149.

1914 S No 149 image

Modern Home No. 149 as shown in the 1914 catalog

Early on, Sears Houses were listed in the catalogs with just a model number, like the No. 149 shown above.  Later, generally after 1916, Sears started giving their models names, like The Oakdale, which is what the No. 149 was called until 1918, which was most likely the last year it was offered.

In the early years, your purchase would include the plans, and the building materials listed, but you would have to size and hand saw the lumber on site.  After 1916, Sears would begin “Pre-cutting” the framing limber, which would greatly reduce waste and labor hours.

What I have noticed as I research these homes, is that a lot of the models from the early years were discontinued after Sears started their Pre-cutting method.  Some were probably too complicated, like the No. 149, and some models, of course, had just fallen out of fashion.

One thing to notice about the No. 149, is that is was a two-family home.  Yep!  Sears had a few of those in their catalogs, and a few four unit apartment buildings as well.

Here’s the floor plan for the No. 149

 

No, you’re not seeing double.  Well, I guess you are kinda seeing double.  The No. 149 wasn’t a side by side two family home.  The first floor was one unit, and the second floor was the other.  So, the floor plans are basically identical, with just a few small adjustments needed to allow for the stairways and entries.  Nice that the second floor unit has a Library.  Of course, that means you would have to carry all your books up the stairs!

The No. 149 had some wonderful features, too.  Both units had a fireplace, a built-in buffet, and a pantry.  Here’s what the catalog had to say about the house.

1914 S No 149 details 1

1914 S No 149 details 2

I didn’t find this house through one of those notices in the newspaper that I mentioned above.  Well, actually, I guess I did.  I found this house because I was looking for a house that WAS mentioned in one of those notices.  And what was nice is that the notice I found gave me an actual address!  That doesn’t happen too much.  Usually all I get is a brief legal description, or a Subdivision name and a lot number.  Then the search is on to find the house.

But the notice gave me an address on Evanston Ave.  So I did what I always do next, and put the address into Google Maps and see what I can see in Street View.  Here’s what I saw.

Screenshot (859)

Bummer.  Guess what’s on the other side of that barricade?  I-71.  Great, just great.  I get what should be an easy find, and the house is gone.  Sigh………..

Well, since I’m already here, on Evanston, in Google maps, that is, I might as well tool around a little bit and have a look at the neighborhood.  Why not?

So, I turn around and head down the street.  And what do I spot, right there on the corner?  Is it?  Is it, really?

S No 149 3504 Evanston Ave Cinc OH (google left side view)

Possible Sears No. 149 at 3504 Evanston Ave., Cincinnati.  Image from Google Maps.

I’ve noticed this model in the catalog, and fellow researcher Lara Solonickne had shared photos of a real one, too, so I pretty much recognized it right away.  Let’s have a look at the sides and some of the details.  Good thing it’s on the corner, and has an empty lot beside it, so we can go all the way around.

Here’s the front.  No, the house isn’t falling over.  Google Map photos look like that sometimes.

S No 149 3504 Evanston Ave Cinc OH (google front view)

Front view of a possible Sears No. 149.  Image from Google Maps.

It’s a bit hard to see in the catalog image,  but the house has a bay window on both floors. Those are plainly visible in the floor plan illustration.  Here’s a close up that shows the first floor bay window and what appear to be the original Sears front porch pillars.

S No 149 3504 Evanston Ave Cinc OH bay window

Several other Sears models featured those pillars, which were offered in various sizes.  If you notice the Newark N.J thing in the catalog listing below, ignore that.  These pillars would have come from Norwood Sash and Door in the Cincinnati market, not Newark.

Scan_20151205 (4)

The house does appear to have a few less details on the inset in the front gable than the No. 149, but that whole area looks newer.

S No 149 3504 Evanston Ave Cinc OH gable

1914 S No 149 image (2)

 

The catalog says the house is 22 ft wide and 50 ft deep, according to the floor plan illustration.  The Hamilton Co Auditor website provides a sketch with exterior dimensions, so I checked that.  It shows only 48 ft. deep, but I wonder if they didn’t include the bay window extension.  And we’ve got an extra foot on the width.  Hard to know for sure how accurate the Auditor’s measurements are.  I have seen them off a bit on documented Sears Homes.  I guess I should also mention the year of build is 1914, according to the tax card.

S No 149 3504 Evanston Ave Cinc OH auditor sketch

Dimension sketch from Auditor Website

Let’s have a look at the right side.  All the windows and both chimney placements match the catalog floor plan.

S No 149 3504 Evanston Ave Cinc OH (google right side view)

Right side view of a possible Sears No. 149 at 3504 Evanston Ave., Cincinnati.  Image from Google Maps

Same with the left side, which you can check on the first photo of the house I posted, if you are that interested.  Windows match, except we are missing the small one in the closet.  Not a big thing to change at construction time.

The back windows match up, too, as well as the location of the rear entry door. The house is on the corner of Evanston Ave. and Duck Creek Rd., in case you are wondering about the address in the picture.

S No 149 3504 Evanston Ave Cinc OH (google rear view)

Back view of a possible Sears No. 149 at 3504 Evanston Ave., Cincinnati.  Image from Google Maps.

All in all, I would say the house is a match.  Maybe someday we will be able to add it to the growing list of “Documented” Sears Houses in Cincinnati.

And last, but not least, here’s the best photo of the house available.  It’s the Auditor’s picture from 2008.  Thanks to the unknown employee of the Hamilton Co. Auditor’s Office for taking great pictures of Sears Houses.  Well……possible Sears Houses.

S No 149 3504 Evanston Ave Cinc OH (2008 Auditor pic)

Possible Sears No. 149 at 3504 Evanston Ave., Cincinnati.  Image from the Hamilton Co Auditor Website

Click here to see a photo of a Sears No. 149 / Oakdale (now demolished ) in Park Ridge, Illinois.

5 comments on “A Sears No. 149 in Evanston (Cincinnati)

  1. I know it’s a multi-family house, but that is one of the coolest Sears models, IMO. Congrats on the discovery!

    Lara
    sears-homes.com

    Like

    • Thanks, Lara. I love this house design, too. This one is actually a three unit now, I think. That’s how many mailboxes are on the front porch, anyway. I wonder if they divided a floor in two, or added a unit in the attic.

      Like

  2. Nice discovery! It’s always worth a few minutes to look around. You never know what you’ll find!

    Like

  3. Cindy!! That is such an amazing find! That is a huge house, again, I always think of Sears houses as one story, single family dwellings. I need to re-program my brain.

    Like

Leave a Reply

American Kit Homes

One man's journey in identifing kit homes.

Preservation in Mississippi

It ain't all moonlight and magnolias

DC House Cat Chiming In

On Washington Real Estate and History

Sears Houses in Cincinnati

A re-creation of a website by Laraine Shape

